• African elephant

See the big five on an African safari

So named after their difficulty to hunt, the 'big five' consists of the African elephant, African leopard, Cape buffalo, black rhino and, of course, the African lion. These magnificent species can be seen in destinations such as Kenya, Tanzania and Botswana, as well as some less-thought-of places, like Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Seeing the 'big five' is a must for any wildlife enthusiast. The elephant; so much larger and more grand in person, the lion; more magnificent and powerful, leopard; beautiful and rather more clumsy than you may think. Then the Cape buffalo and black rhino, both seemingly more intelligent than their years would state.

African sunset, Botswana

Your Next Steps

Want to know more about the big five?